Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA)

Presentation of the Organization

The GRCA was formed in October 1946, under the Conservation Authorities Act. Its overall goal is the conservation, restoration, development and management of natural resources on a watershed basis while providing for the public enjoyment of the lands it oversees.

The watersheds of the GRCA covers an area of 361 square miles from Wilmot Creek in Clarington to east of Cobourg from the south shore of Rice Lake down to Lake Ontario. This area includes seven municipalities in whole or in part: Township of Cavan-Monaghan, Town of Cobourg, Township of Alnwick-Haldimand, Township of Hamilton, Municipality of Port Hope, City of Kawartha Lakes, Municipality of Clarington.


Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority

2216 County Road 28

Port Hope, Ontario

L1A 3V8


Phone: 905-885-8173

Fax: 905-885-9824



Resource Person(s)

Linda Laliberte, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer